How to Stop Drowning in Sugar

Standard

As a freshman in high school, I stopped drinking soda (aka Pop for my northern readers). This was a challenging task since my #1 favorite drink was Dr. Pepper and that’s all I could seem to drink. The reason why I did it was because of some dumb boys making a comment on girls drinking Dr. Pepper (you know which one I’m talking about) and I’m glad they made that disguising comment. 

I took baby steps, I limited myself to 1 Dr. Pepper a day, then only on weekends, next was only celebrations, and I eventually stopped. Now I’m not saying I switched to only drinking water, because I wasn’t crazy. I replaced soda with lemonades and sweet tea, which isn’t any better but its definitely a start. 

Quick question- would you eat 10 spoonfuls of sugar? No? That’s what I thought. 1 cup of soda is nothing different. You’re just drinking empty calories and harming your beautiful body. As I stopped drinking soda, I saw more benefits. I wasn’t so dependent on it anymore, I always craved a good Dr. Pepper from Jack in the Box. Don’t get me wrong, as I’m typing this I’m thinking, “Wow that sounds so good…” even 4 years later. 

Self control is something you have to have if you want to stop drowning yourself. I know, it’s hard because soda is soooo good, but I believe in you. It’s so great when people offer you soda and you say, “Oh no thank you…I don’t drink soda” because they will wish they have the willpower you do. 

YOU’RE GREAT AND YOU CAN DO THIS! 

Leave a Reply

